Grand Theft Kodo

It wasn’t supposed to happen like this.

It’s Friday night, October 3rd. Lazy Friday, nobody around much at 11:30 or so.  I’m on Sherm, attempting to PuG my way into someone else’s Karazhan trip. Someone in the guild wonders aloud if there’s enough folks to give it a go at Coren Direbrew, the Brewfest boss.

We’ve got a tank willing to try, and someone else wants to heal it to try and snag the caster trinkets (which by the way, become pretty much identical when the +damage/+healing stat becomes spellpower). I snag a dps spot, inexplicably not having done this event during the entire holiday.

Someone’s got a remote (I have one on Doffy, I’m glad it’s not going away as I will often use it at hilarious moments, especially during raids. If you’re in the middle of Karazhan and you suddenly find yourself in BRD, that’s a f*cking 50 DKP minus.) so we meet in Shattrath and head on over. We all grab the daily, and the first person starts the event. He goes down smoothly, our healer gets his Direbrew Hops and we start it again. Attempt number two is equally as smooth. This is about 11:58, by the way.

We loot, and it’s one of the Brewmaiden trinkets and…and…a Great Brewfest Kodo.

Everyone immediately freaks out and after a short discussion, everyone rolls need (lolninja!).

And I, the king of bad rolls at important moments, win. I feel bad. I would be lying if I said I didn’t want it (and I’m totally not a mount whore), but I would much rather have seen it go to someone else in the guild.

The rest of the need/greed/pass selections are made on the trinket. And then the corpse disappears. We don’t notice that nobody has won the item until we stand in the Grim Guzzler for about 30 seconds waiting for the respawn to occur.

And we’re still waiting. Someone then realizes that it’s now past midnight server time. It’s October 4th. Brewfest is over. Coren Direbrew is not coming back. Until next year, anyway.

Now I feel really bad. Great. Thanks, Blizzard.

Yes, what I like to think is the final Kodo that dropped on the Thrall server (or perhaps in the entire game) dropped at 11:59 p.m. on October 3, 2008. And I won it.

Gnome on a kodo = win.

Gnome on a kodo = win.

Explore posts in the same categories: random

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Grand Theft Kodo”

  1. Ess Says:

    Hehe, someone did that in one of our recent Kara runs. My mischeivous guildmate put the transporter in the hallway leading to the Opera event, and not one but three people clicked on it and got ported to BRD. We all laughed our butts off.

    Congrats on the kodo! I didn’t see any of the mounts drop during my attempts on Coren. I should have thought of some better insults, perhaps. :)

  2. Nick Says:

    Hi,

    I did posted couple of appreciation posts on recent posts, but I see they are deleted :(

  3. Nick Says:

    Seriously why my comments get deleted :(
    mail me at nick533@gmail.com if any specific reason is there

    Thanks

  4. sEver Says:

    Gratz on that kodo, that is an achievement in the purest form : )


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

