Wall of Stuff crits you for 123107: Happy New Year!

Heh, nothing brings your World of Warcraft addiction to a screeching halt like a shiny new XBox 360 and Guitar Hero under the Christmas tree. I’m still here, checking auctions and mail, seeing what the heroic dailies are but I haven’t done anything of note on the game since Christmas.

This sort of combos with a post I was working on in which I’ve reached kind of a wall with WoW at the moment.

Doofy has everything he needs from Karazhan, minus the shoulders from the Shade of Aran, which are never, ever, ever going to freaking drop. And as far as Badge of Justice rewards go, I just got the legs, and the other pieces of healing plate are really mild sidegrades, so I have minimal use for more badges unless I decided to go protection for gits and shiggles.

Sherm isn’t where I want him yet, but it’s rare that I can sneak him into Karazhan, I was very lucky that I got to do so in our 4-hour clear a couple of weeks ago. Really, he just needs more badges for a legs upgrade. Oh, and his weapon sucks. Short of paying for the mats and nethers for the Eternium Runed Blade, there’s only the exalted Honor Hold sword, which I’m a mere 15,000 rep away from getting. So he needs to get into Karazhan more, which currently isn’t an regular option as I’m typically stuck healing guild trips.

Doffy is still level 67. I can get him to 70 at will, but I really just don’t feel like doing that right now. I just did all these quests in the last 2-3 months or so on Sherm to get the cash for Doofy’s epic flying mount (and Doffy will probably pay for Sherm’s once he gets 70. My characters like to pay it forward.) He’ll be there, just not quite yet.

On top of that, my guild leader is completely sick of running Karazhan, as are most of us. We’re sharding virtually everything that drops or giving it to people for off-specs, and some of those pieces people already have. The things we want (Nightbane’s chest for our MT, Prince’s Mindblade for our casters) aren’t dropping. We can’t move into 25-man content yet because our raid roster is only about 12 or 13 people, plus a handful of friends from outside the guild who have alts they want to gear up. We’re not a raiding guild, really. We’re a screw-around guild that one day decided to do Karazhan, and then eventually started to beat the crap out of the place. A recruitment post went up on the realm forums explaining our desire to expand into 25-man raids, but I don’t see anything really coming of it (do those things ever work unless you’re a top end progression guild?).

I would like to raid more (and this is an absolutely shocking statement by me, one day I’ll make a post explaining why), but I’m otherwise going to step back from the game for a bit. Largely due to the XBox 360 (and Guitar Hero. And Mass Effect.) that is currently taunting me in the other corner of the room, but also due to the reasons mentioned above.

I’m not going to take a break from blogging, though. This writing exercise has been good for me. Hope to comment more on other folks’ blogs and share in the adventures you’re having! (And feel free to say hi if you found your way here from someone else’s site. Thanks)

Until later!

Explore posts in the same categories: Long-winded posts

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

