Progression & Purple Patterns

I’ve been so busy admiring the amount of views I’m getting (1,500, seriously, I’m amazed) that I totally forgot to mention that we got the eagle boss in ZA for the first time last week. We’ve had the bear on farm for a while, but the last two kills have come just short of beating the timer (the prisoner gets nuked in the middle of the fight).

The gauntlet on the way to the eagle boss is moderately aggravating, but we finally got past it when I figured out that I should stand in the middle or so and just start Consecrating, in an attempt to draw most of the birds to me. It seems to work, as we don’t have much trouble with that anymore.

Eagle is probably the most mana intensive fight I’ve been in. Bear isn’t as bad, even though I’m doing nothing but casting Holy Light so the bear form tank (a bear form tank) doesn’t die. In troll form I don’t have to do a whole lot so I’m not using up as much mana then. With eagle random people are taking large chunks of damage in addition to the main tank. The being launched up into the air thing is quite annoying, as well.

Anyway, through some miracle, the healers’ mana lasted just long enough for him to die on our third attempt. He’s not an exceptionally hard fight, as long as everyone collapses in on him before the storm thingy goes off. I think I used 3 Super Manas and was able to pop Divine Illumination twice during the fight. I didn’t win the healer necklace (/cry), but the progression was nice. We dabbled with the lynx boss trash (ick) and then called it a night, but not before using our sticks.

A few of these Amani Hex Stick drop during each run, and they are used on the frogs in the middle. Most of them just give boxes that contain random things like money or charms that work like the Karazhan books. We found an npc named Gunter, who happens to be a food vendor. He sells some buff food, normal food, and then a blue item called a Sealed Scroll Case. I’d ninja’d this thing off the vendor before, and got a measly Scroll of Spirit for my troubles. Yay. I nabbed it again before anyone else could, and out plops Plans: Hand of Eternity

Uh, wow. Everyone freaks out, asking where it came from, and I explained over vent. The only blacksmiths were myself and the main tank so we /roll on it and I won! Yay.

This is good because it’s an excuse to level blacksmithing. It’s just absolutely horrible to level those last 15 points. I got it to 360 with relative ease, then hit a wall as everything I could make that was orange needed Primal Fires and other sorts of expensive stuff. I finally broke down a couple of weeks ago and got up to 365, which let me use one of the felsteel plans I had in the bank, but now I’m stuck at 366. I suppose that’s one of my New Year’s Resolutions for this character.

That, and get the four freakin’ Primal Nethers the silly mace needs. Yeesh.

Explore posts in the same categories: Healing, raiding

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Progression & Purple Patterns”

  1. Kinless Says:

    Four primal nethers is 40 Badges of Justice at Ger’as the Naru vendor there in Shattrath. That’s 2 Karazhan runs.

    Just got to 375 Blacksmithing myself. I farmed a lot of primal fires, and those Ragesteel patterns, and the last four points were 2 Ragesteel Shoulders and 2 Felsteel Helms. My only Auction House purchase was 20 Eternium bars for the last stretch, and that cost me 40g. Otherwise it was all self mined, and not even farmed, just mined in passing and a few circuits now and then. (I never sold any ore or gems. I’ve been hoarding it for just my use.) Forty gold is just four dailies, so no big deal. (Certainly absolutely zero deal when it allowed me to get 375!!)


Leave a Reply

