Unsolicited World of Warcraft Predictions for 2009

Even though nobody asked, here are five things that I think will happen in the coming year. I’ll check back in a year and see how I do.

1. World of Warcraft: The Emerald Dream is announced at Blizzcon ’09.

I mean, come on, this is the biggest chunk of lore that Ensidia hasn’t killed yet. It’s coming. In 2011, but it’s coming.

2. Ulduar (and later Icecrown Citadel) are PTR’d and beaten the day they are patched into the live game.

The only way I don’t see this happening is if one of those raids features about 10 bosses. The only reason Naxxramas took 3 days to clear was people had to get 10 additional levels first. Now, your top guilds (or really, everyone) is going to hit each of the yet-to-be-implemented raids day one and bring it down ridiculously fast. Blizzard has the capability of testing these things internally and I’d like to see them do that to give your bleeding edge guilds a challenge. Don’t let it get farmed to death on the PTR. There should not be detailed strategies for Arthas on day one. But there will be.

3. Emblems of Heroism will be redeemable for Emblems of Valor.

I don’t know if the exchange rate will be 3-for-1, 5-for-1 or 10-for-1, but this will be implemented some point next year. I know I could gear other specs (yeah, right), but I’m just about out of a need for badges emblems on this character, and that’s after buying the Tier 7 chest token which got replaced the next day when Sartharion dropped his on heroic. I know I won’t be the only one in the same boat and I’ve only been doing Naxxramas for a month. Meanwhile, we’ve only dabbled in 25 man content due to not having the consistent numbers and I could use, oh, about 150 more of those things.

Enter the Heroism for Valor exchange. This keeps people interested in running heroics and Naxxramas long after they’ve run out of things to purchase with Emblems of Heroism. And keeps your entitled casuals who can do Naxx 10 and Sartharion but can’t get 25 man raids going happy.

4. Dual specs solve little.

I know it will help certain classes greatly, but whenever this is finally implemented (3.1?), I forsee there still inexplicably seeing a need for tanks and healers when trying to get together for an instance.

Me: “Can you tank or heal?”
Nub: “im a ret dps paladin”
Me: “What’s your other spec?”
Nub: “pvp ret”
Me: /facepalm

Also, doesn’t the whole idea of dual specs seem too…easy? I’m waiting for a catch. The ability to flip back and forth between two specs with no penalty whatsoever just seems like cheating to me. Also I’m going to have a holy spec, and another holy spec. I’m just going to rearrange a talent point or two.

5. Refer A Friend is reintroduced later in the year with benefits extending up to level 70.

The levelling nerf from 60 to 70 is already in effect and this is a logical extension. Compared to the Lich King content, questing in the Burning Crusade sure is painful, and of course they want you to experience the newest expansion, so they might as well have you blow through this content as well so you can head on over to Northrend

What do you think, sirs?

Explore posts in the same categories: I'm just sayin', Long-winded posts, random

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Unsolicited World of Warcraft Predictions for 2009”


  1. 1) Screw that, I want the ****ing Maelstrom.
    2) Possibly.
    3) Likely.
    4) Yep.
    5) Unfortunately.


  2. […] 4 in Doofy’s Unsolicited World of Warcraft Predictions for 2009 is a good one. I know that I’d be tempted to go for two different tanking specs, or two […]

  3. Taconite Says:

    1) Dunno enough of the WoW lore, but if Space Blueberries are possible, anything is possible…
    2) I hope that it is so hard that it needs to be nerfed in a future patch
    3) I hope that a 10 – 1 exchange happens…
    4) I LOLed a lot, then died a little inside as this will happen all too often. I NEED to get my Shaman to 80 so that I can pug groups, all day long πŸ™‚
    5) Probably, but they will miss a lot of great content though.

  4. Kestrel Says:

    I think those are all reasonable guesses. My only comment of substance would be on the dual-spec. So little is known about that at the moment, it’s anyone’s guess as to how it’ll be implemented.

    I could certainly see someone choosing two distint hunter or druid specs. Probably two for pallies (tank/holy or tank/dps, or even dps/holy) and DKs (although I don’t know that much about the DK class yet).

    But for those people who choose a PvE and a PvP spec as their dual-specs: THAT is why you have alts!


  5. But for those people who choose a PvE and a PvP spec as their dual-specs: Please quit playing WoW and play a PVP MMO.

    Fixed, Kes.


  6. […] 2, 2009 by Euripedes (Shamelessly stolen from Doofy the Paladin, World of Matticus, BigRedKitty, and probably a bajillion other […]

  7. Mirshalak Says:

    I think you’re right on pretty much all of them, but on the dual spec point, I really, really wish you weren’t.

    Unfortunately, the one thing which Blizz can’t beat in this game is the douchebag factor. They can code in whatever attempted solutions they like in order to try, but said douchebags seem to employ an incredible amount of creativity and tenacity in order to ensure that their douchebaggery remains constant. πŸ˜‰

  8. Perrin Says:

    1) Someone already “leaked” Maelstrom as the next one at Blizzcon. But then they could change that easily enough.

    2) Ulduar apparently has 12+1 bosses, of which at least 1 will not be visible on PTR, if the rumour mill is to be beleived. http://www.stratfu.com/strats/Ulduar.com

    3) Emblems of Heroism will be able to purchase 213 gear instead, when Ulduar comes out with 226 base gear and and end boss with 239 gear.

    4) Yeah probably. Druids will have a whale of a time (or should that be vampire walrus abomination of a time)

    5) Definitely.

  9. Riverspath Says:

    1) No way. Blizz09 = Starcraft 2 and the new project

    2) I think Ulduar and IC will have hardcore end bosses (prob 1 week instead 3 days xD)

    3) I hope

    4) LooooooL This is gonna happen for sure xD But Dspec will be a nice stuff for healers. Solo.questing is terribling boring

    5) A must. Leveling from 1 to 60 is horrible. Maybe a 2 lvls for 1 would be a nice idea.

    Great post =)


Leave a Reply

